Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Teleportation
 
 Teleportation

[A) The process] [B) Appendix] [Conclusion: a rather symbolic irony]
 
 

 
 
History

This file is here after an exchange of files between the 3 main Code Lyoko fansites at the time of season 4. Codelyoko.net gave this file, codelyokodreamers proposed the file with the links between Code Lyoko and Matrix, while codelyoko.fr proposed its file about Tron!

The end of season 4 plunged all the sites into a state of a more or less deep lethargy, which is why this file arrived a little bit late on our website!

This file is the intellectual property of "l'Anonyme" (Anonymous)!
 
 

 
 Introduction

In episode 73, Replika, Jeremy understands that the Replikas of Lyoko created by XANA can only exist because they are managed by Supercomputers scattered all over the globe, and controlled by XANA. Conscious that these Supercomputers are probably not equipped with scanners, Jeremy decides to create a program able to send his friends into the real world from a Replika, near its Supercomputer, with the goal of destroying these computers and, sooner or later, defeating XANA.

Image Image
 
 

A) The process
 

I) Function

It's only in episode 78, Lab Rat, that he achieves this goal. The program, named "Teleportation" by its designer, seems inspired by the method used by XANA since season 1 to attack on Earth. The operation takes place in the following way.
The Skidbladnir piloted by Aelita reaches a Replika and infiltrates it. Arriving at the reproduced Sector of Lyoko, it must be "linked" or "anchored" to a tower for Jeremy to have the access to it, the Skid being the go-between for the Supercomputer.

Image Image

Connected to this Replika tower, Jeremy activates it; and, once the tower activated, he sends one or many spectres to an area near the Supercomputer generating the Replika (within a radius of around 100 metres, obviously). These spectres, unlike the ones we usually saw in the series, don't contain information for a precise task, but the digital data (visibly converted into electric signals) of the Teleported Lyoko Warriors, who have the same appearance as on Lyoko. To sum it up, the Lyoko Warriors are sent to Earth in the form of polymorphic spectres. This implies two things. First, the only data sent into the spectre is that of the heroes on Lyoko, and not the ones from the scanners: episodes like Code Earth or Lab Rat teach us in a tacit way that during virtualisation, the data is in two "places". There is the data from the scanners, used during rematerialisation, which contains the composition and the exact structure of the body that passed through the scanner, and the data in the "video game" which is Lyoko, and which simultaneously contains the information about the heroes' Avatars, powers and weapons, and "mind", for lack of a better term. Because only this data is used for Teleportation, the heroes have their Lyoko look during the process.

II) Interest

The main interest of Teleportation, as said before, is the reason why Jeremy made this program: to go to Earth from the Network to destroy Supercomputers; however, still on this goal, Teleportation presents multiple advantages: when a Lyoko Warrior is Teleported, he/she has the strength and the speed of a classic polymorphic spectre, but he/she also has the weapons the Supercomputer gave him/her on Lyoko: indeed, the data sent to the spectres also have weapons, like Odd's arrows or Ulrich's sabres. Moreover, the Teleported teens remain in contact with Jeremy during their mission on Earth who, by locating them, can also locate the area they are in, which most of the time is well guarded, and obtain a map, to guide the heroes through the maze that somewhat represents these secret bases and laboratories in which XANA squats.
Occasionally during these missions, the Lyoko Warriors are attacked by xanafied people (or polymorphic spectres, we don't really know), robots, or XANA's monsters; in which case their weapons are at least useful.

III) Limits

However, Teleportation is limited by many factors. We imagine that, if this wasn't the case, it would be too easy. Firstly, Teleportation has a time limit: in episode 78, we learn that the Lyoko Warriors only have around fifteen minutes to destroy the Supercomputer in the Amazonian base, a duration that Jeremy obviously lengthened, but probably not by an infinite amount. We can suppose it's due to the "fragility" of these spectres, itself due to their complexity, which it is imaginable that it makes them a little bit unstable (like the chemical elements which have too large a number of nucleons, making them radioactive), unlike the ones sent by XANA, usually. Still on this question of stability, like on Lyoko, when they are violently hit a certain amount of times, they are automatically de-Teleported. The same goes for the tower activated by Jeremy, which is deactivated (or rather activated for XANA) by William, typing the Code XANA like Aelita types the Code Lyoko. It doesn't break the Skid's link to the tower, but the tower does not manage the Teleported teens anymore, they are de-Teleported. In both cases, the ex-Teleported teens are back to the Skid, occasionally knocked out, sometimes for a long time (probably for the same reasons as when they exit the scanners, but it manifests in a different way, because they pass from the real world to a virtual environment).
Nevertheless, it would be more cumbersome if the Skid were destroyed: in that case, the Teleported Lyoko Warriors probably purely and simply disappear; as for the ones who are not in submarine and fight to protect it, devirtualisation will cost them their life, due to the lack of relay between the Replika and the Supercomputer. That's why only two Lyoko Warriors are Teleported at the same time, while the two others are busy preventing monsters from destroying the Skidbladnir, and William from entering the tower. Aelita also tries to deactivate any tower activated by XANA to spread pitfalls in the way of the Teleported heroes near the Supercomputer.
We can also wonder why, during an de-Teleportation, the Lyoko Warriors go back to the submarine and not the scanners: in actual fact, that's like other spectres. The data is sent by XANA to the towers, and goes out in the real world in the form of waves, or electric signals. The difference between this and Teleportation is that the data is in the Skidbladnir, linked to the tower. Why do the avatars disappear? Well, because they were not needed at the time. And if the data stopped being transmitted permanently, the Avatar reappears, the Skidbladnir's stored data of the Lyoko Warriors coming back into it.
 

B) Appendix
 
I) Strong sensations

The first thing to note in appendix to this article about Teleportation is that, in episode 78, Lab Rat, we notice that, because of the fact that the heroes are on Earth, even with their Lyoko Warrior outfits, they a sense of touch: in Lab Rat, we see Odd complain about the pain caused by the return of his arrows, and, in the following episode, his hair ruffled and his outfit ripped when the generator explosion happens. We can imagine that Teleportation is, especially for Odd, who has eight fingers, a tail and extra ears, something painful, and that only their nature of boosted spectres gives that resilience to them; however, we can understand that during a de-Teleportation, they might be in a state of substantial tiredness, which immobilises them on Lyoko (should we conclude that this is what could happen if someone was virtualised twice in a row? Or would it be even worse, but along the same lines? In both cases, it's dangerous, we know that for sure).

II) XANA and Teleportation

Since episode 83, Hard Luck, XANA also uses Teleportation, to send Kankrelats to fight the heroes. We can wonder about the reason why it didn't do that before, even just to set them on the non-Teleported heroes, on Earth. Two hypotheses: either it didn't see the use of it, knowing that the Supercomputer is equipped with scanners, or Jeremy gave it the idea and, maybe, the means. It's not because XANA is a program that it knows how to do everything. It learns, and maybe not only had it never thought anyone could do that, but furthermore, it didn't know how to do it before Jeremy gave it the means. Jeremy would play a dangerous game, and the "rather symbolic irony", of which I will talk about later, could give XANA the necessary ideas to put the heroes in a bad spot!

III) Aspect of the Teleported Lyoko Warriors

As seen higher up, the Teleported Lyoko Warriors have the same look as on Lyoko... More or less: firstly, we can notice some graphical differences (colour of Ulrich's headband, Yumi's make-up, Aelita's ears, absence of Kiwi's logo on Odd's chest); it is reasonable to attribute this to the animators' fantasy, but we can interpret it in a storyline way: a spontaneous evolution of the avatars during Teleportation, an "emergent property", which translates into a less significant phenomenon.
Secondly, the animators keep reminding us that the spectres are made out of electricity: when a Lyoko Warrior is hit, he/she "bugs up": he/she becomes blurred and seems to dissipate, and vibrates as if the screen were freezing; and, above all, as if the spectre was trying as best as they can to keep their cohesion, a task that, as we saw above, it doesn't achieve in the long term. Moreover, the heroes' weapons and powers are re-transcribed "as possible": Odd's laser arrows have, like Aelita's energy fields, a very electric aspect, unlike the look they have on Lyoko. As for sabres and fans, given that they are "permanent" objects, they have the same look as on Lyoko. These graphic modifications render the idea, which was not always evident in the other seasons, that the spectres really are electric; and that, consequently, the term of "spectre" is a misuse of language, for lack of a better word (except in the electromagnetic meaning of the term, which case the term is more exact).

IV) Powers?

These considerations lead us right to the last point of this first appendix: powers: we saw the heroes' weapons on Earth, but they never used their powers, except Aelita (we'll come back to this later). How do we explain this? Well simply by the fact that the reproduction of these powers on Earth is impossible. Telekinesis more than the others, by the way. If Triplicate or Creativity seem so fanciful, telekinesis is just about impossible, unless we compare the effect of this power to a magnet; in any case, clearly less precise. Creativity, well, it wouldn't be unacceptable that Aelita creates extensions of her own spectre to form objects, but that strays too far from the basic power. As for Triplicate, that would be difficult, wouldn't it?
In contrast, Aelita has a "digital" power. Explicable. But there are many hypotheses here too. The most plausible being the one which brings in the symbolism of Creativity. In season 1, Aelita develops this power as a program fighting against XANA. Also, she is in a position to interact with Lyoko, and to create landscapes on Lyoko (so to program them) from the inside. On Earth, this power, which has continued even after the loss of her "program" status, translates as the ability to interact with computers, earning the name "digital power". We can also think that it's a emergent property of the Teleported spectre (yeah, in Code Lyoko, we love that word), but we also might wonder how Aelita knew she could do it. The most plausible thing to think is that this "power" is linked to the true nature of Creativity, which is not the same as the nature of the other Lyoko Warriors' powers.
 

Conclusion: a rather symbolic irony
 
We all remember these three images: a green tower to which the Skidbladnir is anchored, spectres sent to Earth to wreck everything, and William under XANA's control, deactivating the tower by typing, on the second floor, the Code XANA, to a remix of Aelita's theme in the tower. Curious reversal of the situation, isn't it?
For three seasons, it was the opposite. XANA activated a tower, sent a spectre to Earth, and the Code Lyoko was typed in the activated tower by Aelita. In the Teleportation setting, it's Jeremy who attacks XANA, by activating a tower, and sending his friends in the form of spectres to attack it. There are two points to raise here.
Firstly, the really particular nature of season 4, which is partially offensive: the heroes themselves are in a certain mindset owing to a less stagnant situation than in seasons 2 and 3, which were characterised by either the absence of a goal, or a goal too abstract to prevent a certain fatigue which, because of its concrete goal, didn't exist in season 1. In season 4, the goal is to bring William back, and to defeat XANA. For this, they had to travel, and to fight. The goal is concrete, and it's seen in the heroes' mindset.
Secondly, how do we interpret this occasional reversal of the general situation? I think it is a writing way to show the viewers that if the heroes are going to defeat XANA, it's because of what they've learned from experience, which pushed them to evolve, too. Teleportation is a way for the heroes to say to XANA, "We are as strong as you now", even if it isn't really true. In any series, there is this kind of initiatory journey when the heroes are humans and, all the more so, young ones. This initiatory journey, in addition to symbolising the road to the adulthood, highlights notions that we understand, in the situation of season 4, that were compulsory for the heroes to acquire, to become more powerful, and, more precisely, enough to defeat XANA.
 

Anonymous from codelyoko.net (written 5th of October 2007)

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

La translation
 
 La translation

[A) Le processus] [B) Annexes] [Conclusion : Une ironie bien symbolique]
 
 

 
 
Historique

Ce dossier est présent ici suite à un échange de dossiers entre les 3 principaux fan-sites sur Code Lyokô à l'époque de la saison 4. Le site codelyoko.net a mis à disposition ce dossier, le site codelyokodreamers a proposé son dossier sur les liens entre Matrix et Code Lyoko tandis que codelyoko.fr a proposé son dossier sur Tron !

La fin de la saison 4 a plongé tout les sites dans une léthargie plus ou moins profonde qui est la raison de l'arrivée tardive de ce dossier sur notre site !

Ce dossier est la propriété intellectuelle de "l'Anonyme" !
 
 

 
 Introduction

Dans l'épisode 73, Réplika, Jérémie comprend que les répliques de Lyoko créées par XANA ne peuvent exister que parce qu'elles sont gérées par des Supercalculateurs répartis dans le monde entier, et contrôlés par XANA. Conscient que ces Supercalculateurs ne sont probablement pas équipés de scanners, Jérémie décide de mettre au point un programme permettant d'envoyer ses amis dans le monde réel à partir d'un Réplika, à proximité de son Supercalculateur, dans le but de détruire ces ordinateurs, et, à terme, de vaincre XANA.

Image Image
 
 

A) Le processus
 

I) Fonctionnement

Ce n'est que dans l'épisode 78, Expérience, qu'il y parvient. Le programme, nommé « Translation » par son concepteur, semble inspiré de la méthode employée par XANA depuis la saison 1 pour attaquer sur Terre. L'opération se déroule de la manière suivante.
Le Skidbladnir piloté par Aelita atteint un Réplika et l'infiltre. Arrivé sur le Territoire de Lyoko reproduit, il doit être « branché » ou « arrimé » à une tour pour que Jérémie puisse y avoir accès, le Skidbladnir servant de relais au Supercalculateur.

Image Image

Connecté à cette tour de Réplika, Jérémie l'active ; et, une fois la tour activée, il envoie un ou plusieurs spectres à proximité du Supercalculateur gérant le Réplika (dans un rayon d'environ cent mètres, manifestement). Ces spectres, contrairement à ceux que nous avons l'occasion de voir habituellement dans la série, ne contiennent pas d'instructions pour une tache précise, mais les données numériques (visiblement converties en signaux électriques), des Lyoko-guerriers ainsi translatés, et prennent l'apparence que ceux-ci ont sur Lyoko. En résumé, les Lyoko-guerriers sont envoyés sur Terre sous forme de spectres polymorphes. Cela implique deux choses. Premièrement, les seules données envoyées dans le spectre sont celles des héros sur Lyoko, et en aucun cas celles des scanners : les épisodes comme Code Terre ou Expérience nous apprennent de manière tacite que lors de la virtualisation, les données se trouvent à deux « endroits ». Il y a celles des scanners, exploitées lors de la rematérialisation, qui contiennent la composition et la structure exacte du corps passé au scanner, et celles qui se retrouvent « dans » le jeu vidéo qu'est Lyoko, et qui contiennent à la fois les informations sur les Avatars, pouvoirs et armes, et celles de l' « esprit », faute d'un meilleur terme, des héros. Comme seules ces données-là sont exploitées pour la translation, les héros ont, pendant la translation, leur apparence de Lyoko.

II) Intérêt

L'intérêt premier de la translation, on l'a dit, est la raison pour laquelle Jérémie a élaboré le programme : aller sur Terre depuis le Réseau pour détruire les Supercalculateurs ; toutefois, toujours dans ce but, la translation présente de multiples avantages : lorsqu'un Lyokô-guerrier est translaté, il a non seulement la force et la rapidité d'un spectre polymorphe classique, mais il possède en plus les armes que le Supercalculateur lui a données sur Lyoko : en effet, les données envoyées aux spectres comprennent également celles des armes, que ce soient les fléchettes de Odd, ou les sabres d'Ulrich. Par ailleurs, les translatés gardent, pendant leur mission sur Terre, contact avec Jérémie, qui, en les localisant, peut également localiser la zone où ils se trouvent, généralement bien gardée, et en obtenir une carte, afin de guider ses amis dans le labyrinthe que représentent généralement ces bases et laboratoires secrets investis par XANA.
Il arrive également que lors de ces missions, les Lyoko-guerriers soient attaqués par des xanatifiés (ou des spectres polymorphes, on ne sait pas trop), des robots, ou des monstres de XANA ; auquel cas leurs armes leur sont pour le moins utiles.

III) Limites

Toutefois, la translation est limitée par plusieurs facteurs. On imagine bien que, dans le cas contraire, ce serait trop facile. Premièrement, la Translation est limitée dans le temps : dans l'épisode 78, nous apprenons que les Lyoko-guerriers n'ont qu'un quart d'heure environ pour détruire le Supercalculateur de la base en Amazonie, temps que Jérémie a manifestement pu rallonger, mais probablement pas à l'infini. On peut supposer que cela est dû à la « fragilité » de ces spectres, due elle-même à leur complexité dont il est imaginable qu'elle les rend un peu instables (comme les éléments chimiques qui ont un nombre de nucléons trop important, et qui sont, de fait, dits radioactifs), contrairement à ceux envoyés par XANA, habituellement. Toujours pour cette question de stabilité, comme sur Lyoko, lorsqu'ils sont touchés violemment un certain nombre de fois, ils sont détranslatés automatiquement. Il en va de même lorsque la tour activée par Jérémie est désactivée (ou plutôt activée au compte de XANA) par William qui y entre le Code XANA comme Aelita entre le Code Lyoko. Cela ne déconnecte pas le Skidbladnir de la tour, mais la tour ne servant plus à gérer les translatés, ceux-ci sont détranslatés. Dans ces deux cas, les ex-translatés se retrouvent dans le Skidbladnir, parfois sonnés, parfois pour longtemps (probablement pour les mêmes raisons que lors de la sortie du Scanner, mais cela se manifeste d'une manière différente, puisque l'on passe du monde réel à un environnement virtuel).
Cependant, il est autrement plus gênant que le Skidbladnir soit détruit : dans ce cas-là, les Lyoko-guerriers translatés disparaissent sans doute purement et simplement, quant à ceux qui ne sont pas dans le sous marin et se battent sur le Réplika pour le protéger, la dévirtualisation leur coûterait la vie, faute de relais entre le Réplika et le Supercalculateur. C'est pourquoi seuls deux Lyoko-guerriers à la fois sont translatés, les deux autres étant généralement occupés à empêcher les monstres de détruire le Skidbladnir, et William d'entrer dans la tour. Aelita essaie également de désactiver celle activée par XANA pour semer des obstacles sur le chemin des translatés à proximité du Supercalculateur.
On pourrait se demander également pourquoi lors d'une détranslation, les Lyoko-guerriers se retrouvent dans le sous marin et non dans les scanners : en réalité, c'est comme pour les autres spectres. Les données sont envoyées par XANA dans les tours, et sortent dans le monde réel sous forme d'ondes, ou de signaux électriques. La différence, pour la translation, c'est que les données sont dans le Skidbladnir, connecté à la tour. Pourquoi les avatars disparaissent-ils ? Hé bien, parce qu'il n'y en a plus besoin à ce moment-là. Et si les données cessent d'être transmises en permanence, l'Avatar réapparaît, les données des Lyoko-guerriers stockées dans le Skidbladnir repassant dedans.
 

B) Annexes
 
I) Sensations fortes

La première chose à noter en annexe de cet article sur la translation est que, dès l'épisode 78, Expérience, on remarque, comme de juste, que, du fait que les héros se retrouvent sur Terre, même dans leurs costumes de Lyoko-guerriers, ils ont des sensations : on voit, dans Expérience, Odd se plaindre de la douleur provoquée par le renvoi de ses fléchettes, et, dans l'épisode suivant, ses cheveux se décoiffer et l'état de sa tenue changée lorsque survient l'explosion du générateur. On peut donc imaginer que la translation est, particulièrement pour Odd, qui a huit doigts, une queue, et des oreilles, quelque chose de pénible, et qu'il n'y a que leur nature de spectres boostés qui leur confère la résistance qu'ils ont ; toutefois, on peut comprendre qu'à la détranslation, ils puissent être dans un état de fatigue conséquent, qui le rend immobiles sur Lyoko (doit-on en conclure que c'est ce qu'il pourrait se passer si quelqu'un était virtualisé deux fois d'affilée ? Ou la chose serait-elle pire encore, mais dans la même idée ? Dans tous les cas, c'est dangereux, on le sait.)

II) XANA et la translation

Depuis l'épisode 83, Superstition, XANA utilise lui aussi la translation, pour envoyer des Kankrelats contre les héros. On peut s'interroger sur la raison pour laquelle il ne l'a pas fait avant, ne serait-ce que pour les envoyer contre les héros non translatés, sur Terre. Deux hypothèses : soit il n'en a pas vu l'utilité, sachant que le Supercalculateur est équipé de scanners, soit c'est Jérémie qui lui en a donné l'idée et, peut-être, les moyens. Ce n'est pas parce que XANA est un programme qu'il sait tout faire. Il apprend, et peut-être que non seulement, il n'avait jamais envisagé que l'on fasse ça, mais qu'en plus, il n'aurait pas su le faire sans que Jérémie lui en donne les moyens. Jérémie jouerait donc un jeu dangereux, et l' « ironie bien symbolique » dont j'aurai l'occasion de reparler plus bas pourrait bien donner à XANA les idées qu'il faut pour mettre les héros en fâcheuse posture !

III) Aspect des Lyoko-guerriers translatés

Comme vu plus haut, les Lyoko-guerriers translatés ont la même apparence que sur Lyoko... A peu de choses près : premièrement, on peut constater quelques différences graphiques (couleur du bandeau d'Ulrich, maquillage de Yumi, Oreilles d'Aelita, absence du logo de Kiwi sur le torse de Odd) ; qu'il est raisonnable d'attribuer à une fantaisie des dessinateurs, mais qu'on peut interpréter scénaristiquement par une évolution spontanée des avatars à l'occasion de la translation, une « propriété émergente », qui se traduit par un phénomène peu significatif.
Deuxièmement, les dessinateurs n'ont de cesse de nous rappeler que les Spectres sont d'origine électrique : lorsqu'un Lyokô-guerrier est touché, il « bugge » : il devient flou et semble se dissiper, et vibrer comme si l'image plantait ; et, surtout, comme si le spectre tentait tant bien que mal de garder sa cohésion, tâche à laquelle, on l'a vu plus haut, il ne réussit pas à long terme. De plus, les armes et pouvoirs des héros sont retranscrits sur Terre « comme possible » : les flèches laser d'Odd ont, à l'instar des champs de force d'Aelita, un aspect très électrique, contrairement à l'aspect qu'elles ont sur Lyoko. Quant aux sabres et éventails, étant donné que ce sont des objets « permanents », ils ont la même apparence que sur Lyoko. Ces modifications graphiques traduisent l'idée pas toujours évidente dans les autres saisons que les spectres sont bien électriques ; et que, par conséquent, le terme de « spectre » est un abus de langage, faute d'un meilleur mot (sauf dans le sens électromagnétique du terme, auquel cas le terme est plus juste).

IV) Pouvoirs ?

Ces considérations nous amènent tout droit au dernier point de cette première annexe : les pouvoirs : nous avons vu les armes des héros sur Terre, mais jamais ils ne se sont servis de leur pouvoir, hormis Aelita (nous y reviendrons). Comment l'expliquer ? Hé bien tout simplement par le fait que la reproduction sur Terre de ces pouvoirs n'est pas possible. La télékinésie plus que les autres, d'ailleurs. Si le Triplicata ou le don de création apparaissent assez fantaisistes, la télékinésie est carrément impossible, à moins de comparer l'effet de ce pouvoir à celui d'un aimant, de toute façon, nettement moins précis. Le don de création, encore, il ne serait pas inadmissible qu'Aelita crée des extensions de son propre spectre pour former des objets, mais cela s'éloigne trop du pouvoir de base. Quant au triplicata, difficile, n'est-ce pas ?
En revanche, Aelita a un pouvoir dit « numérique ». Explicable. Mais il y a, là encore, plusieurs hypothèses. La plus plausible étant celle qui fait intervenir la symbolique du don de création. Dans la saison 1, Aelita a développé ce pouvoir en tant que programme luttant contre XANA. Aussi est-elle à même d'interagir avec Lyoko, et de créer des reliefs sur Lyoko (donc de les programmer) de l'intérieur. Sur Terre, ce pouvoir qui a perduré même après la perte de statut de « programme » se traduit par une possibilité d'interaction avec ce qui est informatique, d'où le « pouvoir numérique ». On pourrait également penser que c'est une propriété émergente du spectre de translation (oui, dans Code Lyoko, on aime ce terme), mais alors on pourrait se demander comment Aelita a fait pour deviner qu'elle pouvait le faire. Le plus plausible est donc de penser que ce « pouvoir » est lié à la réelle nature du don de création, qui n'est pas la même que celle des pouvoirs des autres Lyoko-guerriers.
 

Conclusion : Une ironie bien symbolique
 
On se souvient tous de ces trois images : une tour verte à laquelle le Skidbladnir est arrimé, des spectres envoyés sur Terre pour faire des dégâts, et un William sous le contrôle de XANA qui désactive la tour en y entrant, au deuxième étage, le Code XANA sur un remix du thème musical d'Aelita dans la tour. Curieux renversement de situation, n'est-ce pas ?
Pendant trois saisons, c'était l'inverse. XANA activait une tour, envoyait un spectre sur Terre, et le Code Lyoko était entré dans la tour activée par Aelita. Dans le cadre de la translation, c'est Jérémie qui attaque XANA, en activant une tour, et en envoyant ses amis sous forme de spectres l'attaquer. Il y a là deux points à soulever.
Premièrement, le caractère bien particulier de la saison 4, qui est en partie un caractère offensif : les héros sont eux-mêmes dans un état d'esprit dû à une situation moins stagnante que dans les saisons 2 et 3 qui se caractérisaient par soit l'absence d'un but, soit un but trop abstrait pour empêcher une certaine lassitude, qui, du fait de son but concret, n'existait pas dans la saison 1. Dans la saison 4, le tout est de ramener William, et de battre XANA. Pour cela, il a fallu voyager, et, à terme, attaquer. Le but est concret, et cela se voit dans l'état d'esprit des héros.
Deuxièmement, comment interpréter ce renversement occasionnel de la situation générale ? Je pense que c'est un moyen scénaristique de montrer au spectateur que si les héros vont vaincre XANA, c'est parce que l'expérience qu'ils ont vécu leur a appris des choses, et les a poussé à évoluer, eux aussi. La translation est un moyen pour les héros de dire à XANA « Maintenant, nous sommes aussi forts que toi », même si ce n'est pas tout à fait vrai. Dans toute série, il y a ce type de parcours initiatique lorsque les héros sont des humains, et à fortiori, jeunes. Ce parcours initiatique, en plus de symboliser en quelque sorte le passage à l'âge adulte, met en valeur des notions dont on comprend, dans la situation de la saison 4, qu'il était obligatoire pour les héros d'acquérir, afin de devenir plus forts, et, plus précisément, assez pour vaincre XANA.
 

L'anonyme de codelyoko.net (écrit le 5 octobre 2007)