Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Return to the Past: A Code Lyoko Retrospective
Image

About the Podcast
 
Do you know what we love more than anything in the world? Talking about Code Lyoko for hours on end. And do you know what we love even more than that? Talking about Code Lyoko into a microphone, every week, and sharing our thoughts with the great wide world!

Welcome to Return to the Past, a Code Lyoko recap podcast hosted by Mary, Ben, and David, three American twentysomethings who've shared this fandom for over a decade. (Almost) every Monday, we take a deep dive into every Code Lyoko episode, starting with Teddygozilla in February 2017 and continuing on in order. We recap the events of each episode, examine the lines and events we love, share trivia (like translation differences) and go off on ridiculous tangents about things like Ben and David's incorrect tastes in vegetables.

At the end of each episode, we pop open our mailbox and answer our listeners' burning questions, share their stories of Lyoko fandom, and explore their hypotheticals. (Which Hogwarts House would the characters be in? Who would they main in Smash?)

We also devote entire episodes to Code Lyoko's fan culture and ephemera in the Rec Room and Season Break, which air after every tenth episode and between each season respectively. Here we share our favorite fan works, go off on our own theories and tangents, and give listener questions a little extra attention.

Our hope is that the show can appeal to fans and newcomers alike, and hopefully share with them some of the deep and abiding love we've gained for Code Lyoko over these many years. While the show follows the series, watching isn't required – though we've had many people watching the show along with us. We do start from the beginning, but feel free to pick up any episode and join us!

You can find our libysn landing page here, our RSS feed here, or listen on iTunes or your favorite podcast listening hoosit. The podcast is only in English, but we do have listeners from all over the world! Which is mind-boggling but also really awesome.
 

About the Hosts
 
Name:Mary
From:USA (East Coast)
Likes:Writing, Code Lyoko, sprawling metafiction, onions
Favorite Character:Yumi
Mary first discovered Code Lyoko in an ad on the back of a magazine, and her life has not been the same since. Over 13 years in the fandom, Mary has finished one novel-length fanfic, left many, many more novel-length fanfics unfinished, presented Code Lyoko in school assignments not once but twice, and spent a lot of time looking at Codelyoko.fr's screenshot galleries and making Code Lyoko fan forum posts in class (sorry, teachers!). She met both David and Ben inside the CL fandom; David and Mary have been together for seven years, and Mary and Ben went to college together.

Mary is also a big fan of Dangan Ronpa, the Persona series, Oban Star Racers, Wakfu, and Homestuck. She works as a magazine assistant editor in her professional life, and also handles the production side of the podcast.

Name:David
From:USA (Texas)
Likes:Writing, Code Lyoko, dinosaurs, sloths
Favorite Character:Aelita
David first discovered Code Lyoko in an ad for Miguzi (that really gross-looking one where the three-eyed alien says “Howdy!”), thought it looked stupid, and spent at least one semester making fun of his only friend for liking it. One summer later, when season two debuted, he had to eat crow. When his constant yammering about the show finally alienated everyone in his life, he went in search of like-minded people on the internet, where he met Mary and Ben. Mary and David are now a happy couple. Ben has also been around.

Besides Code Lyoko, David's interests include Homestuck, the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Nintendo games, mushrooms on pizza, dinosaurs, and sloths (not necessarily in that order). He's also an aspiring novelist and a part-time soulless bureaucrat. His job on the podcast consists mainly of making puns.

Name:Ben
From:USA (Michigan)
Likes:Orcs, outer space, various cheeses, mid-2000s French science fiction TV shows
Favorite Character:I love all my children equally. Except Herve. I hate Herve.
Gifted at birth with an exceptionally large forehead, Ben sees a lot of himself in Code Lyoko. Perhaps that is why he came to love it so much. When other kids were doing things like “going outside” or “having friends,” Ben spent his time marveling at French children who go inside the internet to shoot lasers at weird animals, and he thinks part of what's wrong with kids these days is that they don't do enough of that anymore. Code Lyoko was Ben's first true fandom community and the foundation of several life-long friendships, including his co-hosts. So fundamental to Ben's childhood was Code Lyoko that for quite some time, the opening theme was his MySpace profile song, if any of you remember back that far.

Ben has attempted to write several Code Lyoko fanfics, and technically completed at least two of them. He also made two Code Lyoko AMVs set to Linkin Park songs in 2006, which you are thankful you have never encountered. In addition to Code Lyoko, his hobbies include: looking at the Internet. He lives in Michigan with his two cats, Mike and Ike.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Return to the Past: A Code Lyoko Retrospective
Image

Le podcast
 
Savez-vous ce que nous aimons le plus dans le monde ? Parler de Code Lyoko pendant des heures et des heures. Et savez-vous ce que nous aimons même plus que ça ? Parler dans un microphone de Code Lyoko chaque semaine et partager nos pensées avec le monde entier !

Bienvenue à Return to the Past (Retour vers le passé), un podcast qui récapitule Code Lyoko, organisé par Mary, Ben et David, trois américains de vingt ans qui ont fait partie du fandom pour plus d'une décennie. (Presque) chaque lundi, nous plongeons profondément dans les épisodes de Code Lyoko, commençant avec Teddygozilla en février 2017 et poursuivant l'ordre des épisodes. Nous résumons les évènements de chaque épisode, examinons le dialogue et l'action que nous aimons le plus, partageons de trivia (comme les différences de traduction) et partons sur des tangentes comme les goûts incorrects de Ben et David pour les végétales.

A la fin de chaque épisode, nous ouvrons notre boîte aux lettres et répondrons aux questions brûlantes de nos auditeurs, partageons leurs histoires du fandom Code Lyoko, et explorons leurs hypothétiques. (Les personnages seront dans quel Maison de Poudlard ? Ils joueraient qui en Smash ?)

Nous consacrons aussi des épisodes entiers à la culture fan et l'éphémère de Code Lyoko : Rec Room (Foyer) et Season Break (Pause de saison). Ces épisodes sont diffusés tous les dix épisodes et après la fin d'une saison respectivement. Là nous partageons notre fanworks préférés, explorons nos théories et nos tangentes, et accordons un peu plus d'attention aux questions de nos auditeurs.

Nous espérons que le podcast peut plaire les fans comme les nouveaux venus, et les partage un peu de l'amour profond et durable pour Code Lyoko que nous avons gagné au cours de ces nombreuses années. Bien que le podcast suive la série il ne faut pas regarder les épisodes vous-même – mais nous avons eu beaucoup de gens qui les regardent avec nous. Nous commençons au début mais libre à toi de nous rejoindre à n'importe quel épisode !

Vous pouvez trouver notre page d'accueil libsyn ici, notre flux RSS ici, ou écoutez sur iTunes ou votre machin-écouter-les-podcasts préféré. Le podcast est en anglais mais nous avons des auditeurs partout dans le monde ! C'est époustouflant mais vraiment génial aussi.
 

Les présentateurs
 
Nom :Mary
Localisation :États-Unis d'Amérique (côte Est)
Passions :Écrire, Code Lyoko, le métafiction tentaculaire, les oignons
Personnage préféré :Aelita
Mary a découvert Code Lyoko dans un pub à l'arrière d'un magazine et sa vie n'a pas été le même depuis. Avec plus que 13 ans dans le fandom, Mary a complétée un fanfiction long comme un roman, laissée inachevés beaucoup, beaucoup plus de fanfictions longs comme des romans, présentée Code Lyoko dans son travail scolaire pas une fois mais deux, et passée beaucoup de temps à regarder les galeries d'images de Codelyoko.fr et à poster sur les forums fans de Code Lyoko (désolée, les profs !). Elle a rencontrée David et Ben dans le fandom CL ; David et Mary ont été ensemble pendant sept ans, et Mary et Ben était dans la même fac.

Mary est aussi gros fan de Dangan Ronpa, la série Persona, Oban Star Racers, Wakfu et Homestuck. Dans sa vie professionnelle elle est rédacteur adjoint d'un magazine, et elle s'occupe du côté production du podcast.

Nom :David
Localisation :États-Unis d'Amérique (Texas)
Passions :Écrire, Code Lyoko, les dinosaures, les paresseux
Personnage préféré :Yumi
David a découvert Code Lyoko dans un pub pour Miguzi (le pub vulgaire avec l'Alien à trois yeux qui dit « Howdy ! »). Il l'a trouvé bête et pendant un moins un semestre, il a moqué son seul ami pour l'aimer. L'été prochain la saison 2 a diffusé et il a dû admettre son erreur. Après qu'il s'est aliéné de tous les gens dans sa vie en geindre constamment sur la série, il s'est allé à la recherche des gens qui pensent comme sur internet. Là il a rencontré Mary et Ben. Maintenant, Mary et David sont un heureux couple. Ben a du vécu aussi.

A part de Code Lyoko, les intérêts de David incluent Homestuck, Le Guide du voyageur galactique, les jeux Nintendo, les champignons sur la pizza, les dinosaures, et les paresseux (pas nécessairement dans cet ordre). Il est un aspirant écrivain et une bureaucrate sans cœur à temps partiel. Son rôle sur le podcast consiste primairement de faire de jeux de mots.

Nom :Ben
Localisation :États-Unis d'Amérique (Michigan)
Passions :Les orcs, l'espace, divers fromages, les séries françaises SF des années 2000
Personnage préféré :J'aime également tous mes enfants. Avec l'exception d'Hervé. Je déteste Hervé.
Doué à sa naissance d'un front exceptionnellement gros, Ben se voit vraiment dans Code Lyoko. C'est peut-être pourquoi il a venu à l'adorer tellement. Pendant que les autres enfants faisaient des choses comme « aller à l'extérieur » ou « avoir des amis », Ben a passé son temps à s'émerveiller des enfants français qui entrent l'internet pour tirer des lasers sur des étranges animaux. Il pense qu'une partie du problème avec la jeunesse, c'est qu'ils ne font pas autant que ça ces jours-ci. Code Lyoko a été la première communauté fan de Ben ainsi que la fondation de plusieurs amitiés de toute une vie, ses coanimateurs y compris. Code Lyoko a été si fondamental à l'enfance de Ben que le générique a été son chanson de profil Myspace pendant pas mal de temps, si vous souvenez ça.

Ben a tenté d'écrire quelques fanfictions de Code Lyoko, et il a techniquement fini deux d'entre eux. Il a aussi créé deux AMV des chansons Linkin Park dans 2006, et vous n'êtes pas mécontent que vous ne les ayez jamais regardés. En plus que Code Lyoko, ses loisirs incluent : regarder l'internet. Il habite en Michigan avec ses deux chats Mike et Ike.