Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Interview with Luccio de Rosa and Florian Ferrier
 
 Interview with the directors of CLE


ImageImage

Florian Ferrier
Director of the
3D-CGI part

Virtual World scenes


Featuring
Gulliver Bevernaege
Odd's actor




Luccio Di Rosa
Directors of the
live-action part

Earth scenes
 
 

Context
 
This interview was conducted by the two webmasters of Codelyoko.fr during the advance screening of Code Lyoko Evolution held in Paris on the 5th of December 2012. The following page is dedicated to this day and a report on it: Click here.

As official representatives of the community with Moonscoop,, we were able to enter the room during the advance screening in order to make our mark and interview certain people before the show.
First interview of the day and definitely not least: the interview with the two directors Luccio Di Rosa and Florian Ferrier. For those who don't know, the former is the director of the live action portion, or the real life scenes. The second is the director of the 3D portion...Two completely different and unique jobs? Not at all, as this interview will show!

Image
On the left, Luccio di Rosa. In the background on the right, Florian Ferrier.
Photo taken with the actors and Christophe de Sabantino at the advance screening of Code Lyoko Evolution.

Enjoy reading this interview as it becomes all the more exciting before the broadcast of the advance screening of the first episode on France4's website.
 

Warning
 
Broadcast

This interview is an exclusive of Codelyoko.fr granted by Moonscoop through our partnership.
You may link to this article to lead people to this page. Any other use of this interview must be agreed on beforehand by the staff of Codelyoko.fr.

ABOUT THE TRANSCRIPTION OF THIS INTERVIEW

The report of this interview is completely re-written. Although this is entirely in the form of question and answer, the words of the two directors have scrupulously respected in their meaning, have been reorganised and the order of questions changed.
This is a choice by the editor for several reasons, explained below.

- Firstly, the two directors were very talkative and pertinent in their answers. In fact, they themselves were able to answer one at a time and respond in a precise manner to all the questions we asked and that we planned to ask. In fact, both webmasters hardly had to conduct the interview because it took off by itself.

- Furthermore, the interview wasn't conducted in a linear manner. The directors sometimes emphasised certain points and returned to them several times. We have therefore voluntarily reorganised the recount and synthesised several responses to make one to make the interview easier to follow.
Along the same lines, we haven't separated the speech of the two directors nor the two interviewers in order to simplify the reading and avoid multiple changes of speakers because the words used by the two colleagues will be used in the same sense.

The interview has been translated from French to English. To read the original interview, Click here.
 

The interview
 
After a brief introduction by the official representative in our partnership with Moonscoop, we sat at a table. The start of the interview started was Mr Di Rosa alone, quickly joined by Mr Ferrier. We didn't have a need to pose the first question, the two directors already seemed to know what to say:

Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
We were contacted very early, around April 2011. We had already met the year before at the Festival du Film Français d'Angoulême (the French Film Festival of Angoulême) one weekend in November. It was necessary that we met and became friends to see if we got along well. Especially afterwards, when we wouldn't be working in the same places.
In Code Lyoko, there was just one director (i.e. Jérôme Mouscadet). With Code Lyoko Evolution, that wasn't possible anymore; the real life and 3D scenes didn't necessarily match in terms of directing. They needed therefore someone in charge of each of those aspects. However, it was necessary that those two people got along well. Resentment could be translated into and felt in the series, each director trying to take different steps to the other.
Following our meeting, we very quickly began to get along. We had the same vision and we knew what we were going to do with Code Lyoko Evolution.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
So you were the first to be recruited before the writers and even before all the work on the synopsis of Code Lyoko Evolution had begun?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Pretty much. It was after that we recruited a writing director then a team of writers was formed.
But Florent and I have been making decisions in the choices in the writing done for Code Lyoko Evolution. When a director needs to work on a pre-existing universe, either because it's an adaptation of a book for example or, as with this, an adaptation of an animated series in live action, it's absolutely necessary that it's appropriated as part of this universe. If not, it won't work efficiently and liberally for the most part.

Also, before being named “Code Lyoko Evolution”, the name of the base project was “Code Lyoko 2.0”. This gives a good idea of a new beginning...Of a beginning which conserves the main ideas of the series...But which adds new developments.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
Was the person who justified the evolution of certain elements of the concept of Code Lyoko Evolution also the one who did the same for Code Lyoko? Have you seen the episodes of the original series?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Yes!

While it was being confirmed that we would be working on Code Lyoko, we watched all the episodes. We had mainly seen the episodes of season 4 because that's the season where the whole concept is revealed with the advent of the Network.
To be completely honest, the first time someone explained the concept of Lyoko to me, I responded “I don't understand any of that.” I needed more explanations before anything started to make sense.
Luckily, the concept of Code Lyoko was very much suited to a live action adaptation. After studying it, we asked ourselves why it hadn't been done earlier!

Still, the concept of Code Lyoko is extremely complex and unclear. Plus certain elements of the show were a bit older. Take the Digital Sea for example...In Code Lyoko, it's a term given at all-will to describe a lot of things. There are in fact many “Digital Seas” which form the Network which the heroes navigate between Lyoko and the Replikas and also a Digital Sea inside Lyoko.
There's also Sector Five. Its organisation is very complex. There was a part of the Digital Sea inside (i.e. the Celestial Dome). A more precise example: in certain scenes, we see certain rooms in Sector Five which are completely empty except for platforms. When I asked what made up this void, nobody was able to give me a precise and certain response.
We had to adapt all of that. We had voluntarily made the choice to simplify the concept and most of all to remove the incoherent aspects.
With Code Lyoko Evolution, there was a new team of writers who arrived and who needed to have the concept explained to them. We couldn't work properly if regularly, the writers asked questions like, “And what is there once you leave this room in Sector Five?” and we were unable to respond.

We therefore for the first time, with David the head of writing, reworked the Literary Bible of Code Lyoko with the goal of simplifying the concept.
That's why two Sectors disappeared (i.e. the Ice and Forest). We made the choice to limit the number of Sectors to better exploit the remaining ones. It's not by chance; it's the fruit of some reflection around the world of Lyoko but also the originality of each one of these Sectors. Sector Five has also been simplified. And finally, a part of the vocabulary used in the series was redefined, also so that the people who know nothing about Code Lyoko can understand Code Lyoko Evolution.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
And the Earth part? Filming restrains have surely influenced the writing choices?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Obviously in some amount... Filming a live series is in no way comparable to a cartoon.
The filming constraints are enormous. Just for the scenes at Kadic Academy, we had to immobilise Lycée Guez-de-Balzac for two months! This can't simply be improvised and we couldn't overstay our welcome, because after that, it was back to school time!

We met the actors in April 2012. Their preparation was paramount and they were subjected to a rough filming schedule. But they handled it like pros. We also had to compose an entire team.

But thinking about filming constraints was put upstream, at the same time we were working on the story and modifying the Literary Bible.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
Since we're talking about the adaptation of Code Lyoko to Code Lyoko Evolution: Did you work a lot with the original team who worked on Code Lyoko? I'm thinking of Sophie Decroisette in particular, the writing director, and Jérôme Mouscadet, the director of Code Lyoko.


Luccio Di Rosa:
Uh, no, I didn't see them a lot...
(To Florian) You worked with them, right?

Florian Ferrier:
No, not a whole lot.
They chose to stay in the background. They helped with the writing of the first episodes, but that's all.

Luccio di Rosa:
You have to realize that writing for a live series isn't at all the same kind of work as for an animated series. You need to understand them too. They don't necessarily have the desire to get their feet wet in an area of work that isn't theirs. Same for the writing of the episode scripts. A script for an animated series and one destined for a set with real actors isn't the same at all.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
What about Tania Palumbo ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
She is also staying in the background and not artistic director anymore, but she's remaining with Thomas Romain, the creator of the original project.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
So, a lot of elements were inevitably removed. We think the fans are all under the same impression. Due to budget restrictions, the special effects are a lot more costly and difficult to achieve than in an animated series. Likewise, we also suppose that certain places and people have disappeared, which is equally understandable.
Apart from that, could you tell us more about the challenges of transitioning from the animated series to the live action series?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Indeed, the special effects on Earth can't be treated the same way in the live action series. Unlike Code Lyoko, when XANA attacks, we can't make explosions in the middle of the city in the live action. So, the action will be developed in the 3D part on Lyoko instead. On the virtual side, we worked a lot on the realism to make the fighting more dynamic and more fluid.
However, the live action also has its benefits.
It accentuates the physical side of the series. So, from now on, the live action scenes will mainly be focused on the atmosphere. We put extra focus on the humor, but also on the sentiments between the relations of the characters. And in doing that, I think that we succeeded in recreating the atmosphere that existed between the characters of the animated series.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
In addition, one of your greater challenges was to produce a series that will attract new fans while still satisfying the old ones...


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Absolutely. And we were aware of it from the beginning.
It's a subject on which we have equally worked on a great deal, and I think that it will be one of our successes.
Of course, not everything can be exactly identical to the original series... and to tell the truth, even if it were possible, that was not our goal. There will still be changes. But we have kept a lot as close as possible to Code Lyoko.
We have occupied our time in particular with the casting and extended the duration of it in order to find good actors for the characters. Not necessarily professional actors with a lot of experience, but with the actors who felt truly in touch with the character they play.
Take Marin for example, you just have to see him to see Jeremy. Their resemblance is striking! And then, there is also Gulliver! Gulliver... You watch how he talks, moves, behaves... He's Odd! And I think that he'll go far if he perseveres in the acting career. He's made of gold, and he's very talented!
Next, of course, for the fans, the cartoon's transition to live action isn't easy! There are necessary differences between the cartoon and the live action. For Odd, if we had looked for an actor with blonde hair... Well, we would have looked for a long time, because blonde hair doesn't exist quite simply.
Or again, Aelita's wig... In Code Lyoko, Aelita has pink hair. Pink hair, that also doesn't exist... So either we change the color of their hair, which isn't what people want, or we adapt as best we can. We had a lot of trouble getting a result with this wig.
Next, it's a question of understanding and adapting. When you see the wig for the first time in the series, of course, that's surprising... You only notice the wig and as a result, you focus on it... And then the episode unwinds and after ten or so minutes, you pay more attention to the episode, because you get used to it. Everything is there actually. You just need to accept the change.
And besides, have you seen the episodes? What did you think of them?

CodeLyoko.fr team (Kerian):
(Note: The interview took place before the screening of the two premier episodes.)
I saw episode 5 during the "focus group."
I think there were successes as well as pitfalls. But from what I understood, the episode wasn't totally finished when I saw it. So, the special effects were not completely integrated.
From a scriptwriting perspective, I found the episode quite basic.


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Yes... I remember that for episode 5, we were asked to complete it as quickly as possible for MIPTV. In fact, it's a very basic episode, because nothing happens: The goal was really to show what an episode of Code Lyoko Evolution is like with the transition from the animated series to the live series. Therefore, the episode contains no major scriptwriting revelations.
It's even in a way "the worst of the series," because it takes place after the freshness of the first episodes, but before the action really starts - the action starting from around episode 7.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
So, it's sort of a pilot episode?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
That's right.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
Since we're talking about the evolution between the episodes: Is this season an "evolving" season when it comes to the plot?
I'll explain. Normally, the original series was known for having a basic scenario and was comprised of repetitive episodes that could be watched in whatever order. The goal is that new viewers can get into the series along the way.
We already had that in Code Lyoko with season 1, and as well with season 2 where, in each episode, Aelita had to escape from the Scyphozoa. Does Code Lyoko Evolution follow this repetitive logic, or is there a different logic and progression to the plot that requires an order to the episodes, like was the case in seasons 3 and 4?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Well, yes and no.
We tried to make an "evolving" season with real development in the plot... even though we were encouraged to do the opposite...
So, there is a logic to it, and it is clearly preferable to watch the episodes in order. Despite everything, you can partly follow the series out of order... but I think if a person does that, they won't understand what happens at all in certain episodes.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
Without getting back into the scriptwriting revelations... The character of Laura!
Was this new character a wish on your part? Was it necessary in your eyes to bring something new to the table and to present a new character "who must explain everything," and who, as a result, can provide explanations for the new viewers?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Totally!
For us, Laura was fundamental.

Not only that - she brings a new face to the team. But really, she was thought up as the character who could ask questions to bring about explanations. Eventually, her role slightly changed, because she doesn't appear immediately in the series.
But ultimately, her influence stays the same. Laura, she's the new arrival. Her determination to join the team is going to cause a mess, because she is going to ask questions that should not be asked and put herself right in the middle of the sentimental connections between the characters. She is even going to bring her own bit of discord into one of the relationships... Besides that, she is the female equivalent of Jeremy.

CodeLyoko.fr team:
Since we need to conclude
(Note: The public started reentering the room,) do you think that Code Lyoko Evolution will be a success?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier:
Well... The test is just today... The two premier episodes are going to be subject to the eyes of pros (Note: The old fans mainly present at the premier.)
On our part, we sincerely believe we have made the best possible... At least... Let's say rather that I think that we couldn't have done better with the amount of time and the means that we were given. The amount of time that we had was very short, and above all, the hybrid between the 3D animation and live action was a first and a total challenge.
Now, these are the figures and the results that will make the Code Lyoko Evolution of which we speak.
I think the important thing is acceptance. It is necessary to adapt to change. With just a few minutes of watching, we get used to the novelty and are new again to Code Lyoko.
When we see each other again after the premier, will you tell us what you thought of it?


CodeLyoko.fr team:
Sure thing! Thank you so much!
 

Interview collected by Shaka and Kerian from CodeLyoko.fr
During the Evolution advance-premier on 5 December 2012
Reorganised and slightly reformulated by Shaka

 
 
Thanks to Mr. Ferrier and Di Rosa for sharing their time with us!
 
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Interview de Luccio di Rosa et Florian Ferrier
 
 Interview des réalisateurs de CLE


ImageImage

Florian Ferrier
Réalisateur de
la partie 3D

Scènes dans le
Monde Virtuel


Avec la participation
de Gulliver Bevernaege
Acteur d'Odd




Luccio Di Rosa
Réalisateur de
la partie live

Scènes sur Terre
 
 

Contexte
 
Cette interview a été réalisée par les deux webmasters de CodeLyoko.fr lors de l'avant-première Code Lyoko Evolution qui s'est déroulée à Paris le 05 décembre 2012. Le dossier suivant est consacré à cette journée et en fait un rapport : Cliquez ici.

Référents officiels de la communauté auprès de Moonscoop, nous avons pu entrer dans la salle en « avant-première » afin de prendre nos marques et d'interviewer certaines personnes avant l'effervescence.
Première interview de la journée et non des moindres pour nous mettre en jambe : L'interview des deux réalisateurs Luccio Di Rosa et Florian Ferrier. Pour ceux qui l'ignoreraient, le premier est le réalisateur de la partie réelle terrestre donc les prises de vue réelles en live. Le second est, lui, le réalisateur de la partie 3D... Deux postes totalement différents et indépendants ? Pas du tout ! Cette interview le montrera.

Image
Tout à gauche, Luccio di Rosa. A l'arrière plan, Florian Ferrier.
Posant avec les acteurs et Christophe di Sabatino lors de l'avant première Code Lyoko Evolution.

Bonne lecture de cet entretien d'autant plus passionnant qu'il parait la veille de la diffusion en avant-première du premier épisode sur le site de France 4.
 

Avertissement
 
Diffusion

Cette interview est une exclusivité CodeLyoko.fr accordée par Moonscoop dans le cadre de notre partenariat.
Vous pouvez linker cette interview pour conduire les gens sur cette page. Toute autre utilisation de cette interview doit faire l'accord au préalable du staff de CodeLyoko.fr.

A propos du mode de retranscription de cette entrevue

Le compte-rendu de cette interview est intégralement re-rédigé. Bien qu'il se présente intégralement sous la forme d'un question-réponse, les propos des deux réalisateurs, scrupuleusement respectés dans leur sens, ont été réorganisés et l'ordre des questions modifié.

C'est un choix du rédacteur qui s'explique par plusieurs raisons.

- Tout d'abord les deux réalisateurs se sont montrés très loquaces et pertinents dans leurs propos. De fait, ils ont eux-mêmes su se donner le mot à tour de rôle et répondre de manière ciblée et pertinente à toutes les questions que nous pouvions nous poser et que nous avions prévu de leur soumettre. De fait, les deux webmasters n'ont presque pas eu à animer l'interview tant celle-ci s'est déroulée d'elle-même.
- De plus, l'interview ne s'est pas déroulée de manière linéaire. Les réalisateurs ont parfois fortement insisté sur certains points et y sont revenus plusieurs fois. Nous avons donc volontairement réorganisé le compte-rendu et synthétiser plusieurs réponses en une seule pour éviter des redondances à la lecture.

De même, nous n'avons pas séparé les propos des deux réalisateurs et des deux interviewers pour simplifier la lecture et éviter de multiples changements de locuteurs car les mots tenus par les deux confrères allaient toujours dans le même sens Smiley
 

L'interview
 
Après une brève présentation par la personne référente de notre partenariat chez Moonscoop, nous nous installons à une table. Le début de l'interview commence avec M. Di Rosa seul, rapidement rejoint par M. Ferrier. Nous n'avons pas eu besoin de poser la première question, les deux réalisateurs ont d'emblée su trouver de quoi dire :

Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Nous avons été sollicités très tôt, dès avril 2011. Nous nous étions déjà rencontré l'année précédente au Festival du Film Français d'Angoulême durant un week-end de novembre. Il était nécessaire que nous nous rencontrions en amont pour vérifier que nous nous entendions bien. D'autant plus que par la suite, nous n'allions pas être amenés à travailler aux mêmes endroits.

Dans Code Lyoko, il n'y avait qu'un seul réalisateur (Nda : Jérôme Mouscadet). Avec Code Lyoko Evolution, ce n'était plus possible : La prise de vue réelle et la partie 3D ne nécessitent pas les mêmes compétences en termes de réalisation. Il fallait donc une personne en charge de chacun de ces aspects. Cependant, il était nécessaire que les deux personnes s'entendent bien. Une mauvaise ambiance se serait forcément ressentie dans la série, chaque réalisateur essayant de prendre le pas sur l'autre.
Suite à notre rencontre, nous nous sommes très rapidement bien entendus. Nous avions la même vision de ce que nous allions faire avec Code Lyoko Evolution.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
Vous avez donc été les premiers à être recrutés avant les scénaristes et avant même que tout travail sur le scénario de Code Lyoko Evolution n‘ait débuté ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Tout à fait. C'est par la suite que nous avons recruté un directeur d'écriture puis qu'une équipe de scénaristes a été composée.
Mais Florent et moi avons été acteurs dans les choix scénaristiques qui ont été faits pour Code Lyoko Evolution. Quand un réalisateur doit travailler sur un univers préexistant, soit parce qu'il s'agit de l‘adaptation d'une œuvre littéraire ou bien, comme ici, de l'adaptation en live d'une série animé, il est absolument nécessaire qu'il s'approprie en partie cet Univers, sinon, il ne peut pas travailler efficacement et librement dessus.

D'ailleurs, avant d'être nommé « Code Lyoko Evolution », le nom de base du projet était « Code Lyoko 2.0 ». Cela laisse bien l'idée d'un nouveau départ... D'un départ qui conserve les bases de la série... Mais qui développe de la nouveauté.

Equipe Code Lyoko.fr :
Est-ce ce qui justifie une évolution dans certains éléments du concept de Code Lyoko Evolution par rapport à celui de Code Lyoko ? Avez-vous regardé les épisodes de la série originale ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
C'est ça !
Lorsqu'il a été confirmé que nous travaillerons sur Code Lyoko, nous avons effectivement visionné des épisodes. Nous avons principalement vu des épisodes de la saison 4 car c'est la saison où l'intégralité du concept est révélée avec l'apparition du Réseau.
Pour être tout à fait honnête, la première fois qu'on m'a expliqué le concept de Lyoko, j'ai répondu « J'ai rien compris ». Il a fallu plusieurs explications pour que les choses prennent leur place.

Fort heureusement, le concept même de Code Lyoko se prête très bien à une adaptation en live. Après l'avoir étudié, on s'est même demandé pourquoi ils n'y avaient pas pensé plus tôt !

Reste que le concept de Code Lyoko est extrêmement complexe et flou. De plus certains éléments de la série avaient un peu vieilli. Prenez la Mer Numérique par exemple... Dans Code Lyoko, c'est un terme qui est lancé à tout-va pour parler de plein de choses. Il y a en fait plusieurs « Mers Numériques ». Celle qui forme le Réseau où les héros naviguent entre Lyoko et les Réplikas mais aussi une Mer Numérique à l'intérieur de Lyoko.
Il y a aussi le 5ème Territoire. Son organisation est elle aussi très complexe. Il y aurait un bout de Mer Numérique à l'intérieur (Nda : La Voûte céleste). Exemple précis : Lors de certaines séquences, on voit dans certaines pièces du 5ème Territoire qu'il y a du vide autour des plates-formes. Quand j'ai demandé où menait ce vide, personne n'a su me fournir de réponses sûres et certaines.

Il a donc du fallu adapter tout cela. Nous avons fait volontairement le choix de simplifier le concept et surtout de supprimer les incohérences.
Avec Code Lyoko Evolution, il y a une nouvelle équipe de scénaristes qui est arrivée et à qui il a fallu expliquer le concept. Nous ne pouvions pas travailler convenablement si régulièrement, les scénaristes se posaient des questions comme « Et en sortant de cette pièce dans le 5ème Territoire, il y a quoi ? » et que nous étions incapables de leur répondre.

Nous avons donc dans un premier temps, avec le directeur d'écriture David, retravaillé la Bible Littéraire de Code Lyoko dans le but de simplifier le concept.
C'est pourquoi deux Territoires ont disparu (Nda : La Banquise et la Forêt). Nous avons fait le choix de limiter le nombre de Territoire pour pouvoir mieux les exploiter. Ce n'est pas un hasard, c'est le fruit d'une réelle réflexion autour du Monde de Lyoko mais aussi de l'originalité de chacun des Territoires. Le 5ème Territoire a lui aussi été simplifié. Et enfin, une partie du vocabulaire propre à la série a été redéfini, aussi pour que les personnes ne connaissant rien à Code Lyoko comprennent Code Lyoko Evolution.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
Et la partie terrestre ? Les contraintes de tournage ont sans doute aussi influencé les choix scénaristiques ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Immanquablement dans une certaine mesure... La réalisation de la série live n'est en aucun cas comparable à celle de l'animé.
Les contraintes de tournage sont énormes. Rien que pour les scènes au collège Kadic, nous avons du immobiliser le lycée Guez-de-Balzac durant deux mois ! Ca ne s'improvise pas et nous ne pouvions pas dépasser ce délai, car après, c'était la rentrée des classes !

Nous avons rencontré les acteurs en avril 2012. Leur préparation était capitale et ils ont été soumis à un rythme de tournage effréné. De ce côté-là, ils se sont débrouillés comme des pros. Il a aussi fallu composer toute une équipe.

Mais la réflexion des contraintes de tournage avait été menée en amont, en même temps que nous travaillions sur le scénario et la modification de la Bible Littéraire.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr
Puisqu'on parle de l'adaptation du concept de Code Lyoko à Code Lyoko Evolution : Avez-vous beaucoup travaillé avec les anciennes équipes qui travaillaient sur Code Lyoko ? Je pense notamment à Sophie Decroisette, la directrice d'écriture, et Jérôme Mouscadet, le réalisateur de Code Lyoko.


Luccio Di Rosa :
Euh, non, je ne les ai pas beaucoup vus...
(A Florian) Tu as travaillé avec eux, toi ?

Florian Ferrier :
Non, pas énormément.
Ils sont volontairement restés en retrait. Ils ont aidé à la rédaction des premiers épisodes mais c'est tout.

Luccio di Rosa :
Il faut dire que la réalisation d'une série-live n'est pas du tout le même travail que la réalisation d'une série animé. Il faut aussi les comprendre. Ils n'avaient peut-être pas forcément envie de se mouiller dans un domaine qui n'est pas le leur. Même la rédaction des scripts d'épisode n'est pas du tout la même entre un dessin animé et un script destiné à un tournage avec de vrais acteurs.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
Et Tania Palumbo ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Elle est aussi en retrait et n'est plus directrice artistique mais elle reste avec Thomas Romain la créatrice du projet originel.

Equipe de CodeLyoko.fr :
Ainsi, beaucoup d'éléments ont été nécessairement supprimés. Nous pensons que tout fan est à même de le comprendre. C'est du aux restrictions budgétaires, les effets spéciaux du live étant bien plus couteux et difficile à mettre en œuvre que dans une série animée. De la même manière, nous supposons déjà que certains lieux et personnages auront disparu, chose également tout à fait compréhensible.

Outre cela, pouvez-vous nous en dire davantage sur les enjeux du passage de la série animé à la série live ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
En effet, les effets spéciaux sur Terre ne peuvent pas être traités de la même manière dans une série-live. Contrairement à Code Lyoko, quand XANA attaque, nous ne pouvons pas faire exploser la moitié de la ville dans le live. L'action, elle, sera donc plutôt développée dans la partie 3D sur Lyoko. Côté virtuel, nous avons beaucoup travaillé sur le réalisme pour rendre les combats plus dynamiques et plus fluides.

Néanmoins, le live présente lui-aussi des avantages.
Il permet d'accentuer le côté physique de la série. Ainsi, désormais, les scènes en live seront principalement orientées sur l'ambiance. On a mis ration double sur l'humour mais aussi sur les sentiments dans la relation entre les personnages. De ce côté-là, je pense qu'on a réussi à recréer l'ambiance qu'il existait entre les personnages de la série animée.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr
En somme, un de vos plus gros enjeux étaient de produire une série qui attireraient à la fois de nouveaux fans tout en satisfaisant les anciens...


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Absolument. Et nous en avions conscience dès le début.
C'est également un sujet sur lequel nous avons énormément travaillé et je pense que ce sera un de nos succès.

Bien entendu, tout ne peut pas être exactement identique à la série d'origine... et à vrai dire, même si c'était possible, cela n'était pas notre but. Il y aura toujours des changements. Mais nous avons beaucoup fait pour rester au plus proche de Code Lyoko.

Nous avons notamment pris du temps et allongé la durée du casting afin de trouver les bons acteurs pour les personnages. Pas forcément des acteurs professionnels et avec beaucoup d'expériences mais des acteurs qui se sentiraient dans le personnage qu'ils incarneraient.

Prenez Marin par exemple, il suffit de le voir pour voir Jérémie. Leur ressemblance est frappante ! Et puis, il y a aussi Gulliver ! Gulliver... Vous le regardez parler, bouger, se comporter... C'est Odd ! Et je pense qu'il ira loin s'il persévère dans le métier d'acteur. C'est un gamin en or et très talentueux !

Après, évidemment, pour les fans, le passage de l'animé au live n'est pas évident ! Il y a forcément des différences entre l'animé et la réalité. Pour Odd, si on avait cherché un acteur avec les cheveux jaunes... Eh bien, on aurait cherché longtemps parce que les cheveux jaunes, ça n'existe pas tout simplement...
Ou encore, la perruque d'Aelita... Dans Code Lyoko, Aelita a les cheveux roses. Cheveux roses, ça aussi, ça n'existe pas... Donc soit on change la couleur de cheveu, ce qui n'est pas souhaitable, soit on adapte du mieux qu'on peut. On a eu beaucoup de mal à obtenir un résultat avec cette perruque.
Après, c'est une question de compréhension et d'adaptation ! Lorsque l'on voit la perruque pour la première fois dans la série, bien évidemment, cela surprend... On ne remarque que cela et du coup, on se focalise sur ça...
Et puis l'épisode se déroule et au bout d'une dizaine de minutes, on y fait même plus attention car on s'y est habitué. Tout est là dedans en fait. Il faut juste accepter le changement.

Et d'ailleurs, vous, avez-vous vu des épisodes ? Qu'en avez-vous pensé ?

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr (Kerian) :
(Note : L'interview a lieu avant la projection des deux premiers épisodes)
J'ai vu l'épisode 5 lors du « focus group ».
Effectivement, je pense qu'il y a des réussites comme des écueils. Mais à ce que j'ai compris, l'épisode n'était pas totalement achevé lorsque je l'ai vu. Les effets spéciaux n'étaient donc pas totalement intégrés.
Du point de vue scénaristique, j'ai trouvé l'épisode assez basique.


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Oui... Je me rappelle que pour l'épisode 5, on nous a demandé de le boucler le plus rapidement possible dans l'optique du MIPTV. C'est en effet un épisode très basique car il ne se passe rien : Son but était vraiment de montrer ce que donnerait un épisode de Code Lyoko Evolution avec le passage de l'animé à la série live. Par conséquent, l'épisode ne contient aucune révélation scénaristique majeure.
C'est même d'une certaine manière « le moins bon de la série » car il se déroule après les nouveautés des premiers épisodes mais avant que l'action ne s'active vraiment, c‘est-à-dire à partir de l'épisode 7 environ.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
C'est donc une sorte d'épisode pilote ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
C'est ça.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
Puisqu'on parle de l'évolution entre les épisodes : Cette saison est-elle une saison « évolutive » au niveau du scénario ?
Je m'explique. En temps normal, les séries-jeunesse sont conçues d'après un scénario basique et comportent des épisodes répétitifs qui peuvent être visionnés dans n'importe quel ordre. Le but est que le nouveau spectateur puisse attraper la série en cours de route.
On a déjà eu ça dans Code Lyoko avec la saison 1 et aussi la saison 2 où, à chaque épisode, Aelita devait échapper à la Méduse. Est-ce que Code Lyoko Evolution suit cette logique répétitive ou y a-t-il une logique et une progression scénaristique dans l'ordre des épisodes, comme ce fut le cas dans la saison 3 et la 4 ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Alors oui et non.
Nous avons essayé de faire une saison évolutive avec une réelle progression au niveau du scénario... bien qu'on nous ait incité à faire le contraire...
Il y a donc une logique et il est clairement préférable de regarder les épisodes dans l'ordre. Malgré tout, on peut suivre en partie la série dans le désordre... mais je pense qu'une personne qui ferait ça ne comprendra pas tout à ce qui se passe dans certains épisodes.

Equipe Code Lyoko.fr :
Sans rentrer dans les révélations scénaristiques... Le personnage de Laura !
Est-ce un souhait de votre part ? Etait-il à vos yeux nécessaires pour apporter de la nouveauté et servir de personnage nouveau « à qui il faut tout expliquer » et qui, par conséquent, permet d'apporter des explications aux nouveaux spectateurs ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Entièrement !
Pour nous, Laura était fondamentale.
Non seulement, elle apporte du sang neuf à l'équipe mais effectivement, elle a été pensée comme le personnage qui permettrait de poser des questions pour apporter des explications. Au final, son rôle a légèrement changé car elle n'apparait pas immédiatement dans la série.

Mais au fond, son influence reste la même. Laura, c'est la nouvelle venue. Sa volonté d'intégrer l'équipe va mettre le bazar car elle va poser des questions qu'il ne fallait pas poser et mettre les pieds en plein dans le plat en ce qui concerne les relations sentimentales entre les personnages. Elle-même va apporter son petit lot de discorde dans une des relations de couple... Sinon, elle est l'équivalent féminin de Jérémie.

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr
Puisqu'il nous faut conclure
(Nda : Le public commençait à rentrer dans la salle), pensez-vous que Code Lyoko Evolution sera un succès ?


Luccio Di Rosa & Florian Ferrier :
Eh bien... C'est un peu aujourd'hui le test... Les deux premiers épisodes vont être soumis à l'œil des pros (Nda : Les vieux fans majoritairement présents à l'avant-première).

De notre côté, nous pensons sincèrement avoir fait le meilleur possible... Du moins... Disons plutôt que je pense que nous n'aurions pas pu faire mieux dans les délais et avec les moyens qui nous ont été accordés. Le délai qui nous a été imparti était très court et surtout, ce sujet hybride entre animation 3D et série live était une première et un défi à part entière.

Maintenant, ce sont les chiffres et les résultats que fera Code Lyoko Evolution qui parleront...

Je pense que l'important est l'acceptation. Il faut s'adapter au changement. Il existe mais passées quelques minutes de visionnage, on se fait à la nouveauté et on est à nouveau dans Code Lyoko.

On se revoit après l'avant-première, vous nous direz ce que vous en avez pensé ?

Equipe CodeLyoko.fr :
Très bien ! Merci beaucoup !
 

Propos recueillis par Shaka et Kerian de CodeLyoko.fr
Lors de l'avant-première Evolution du 5 décembre 2012
Réorganisés et légèrement reformulés par Shaka

 
 
Merci à Messieurs Ferrier et Di Rosa pour le temps qu'ils nous ont consacré
 
 

Image