Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Ms Hertz
 
 Ms Hertz

[Characteristics] [Role in the series] [Character and behaviour] [Appearances] [Community]

[Back to homepage]
 
 

Image

Characteristics
 
Image

"You taught us that wood doesn't conduct electricity!"

#54 Lyoko Minus One


Name: Suzanne Hertz

Occupation: Science teacher

Family: No information. She does not seem to be married, as Jim appears to long for her.

Other: Ms Hertz seems to be in love with a certain Pedro (episode 62 “Nobody in Particular”) whom she wants to impress with ballroom dances such as the Argentinian tango. But she is embarrassed by the idea of mentioning it in front of the students (episode 75 “Hot Shower”). She is the most authoritarian teacher.
Also, during the third season, she is the class teacher of the ninth grade students (that is to say, Jeremy, Aelita, Ulrich and Odd).
 

Role in the series
 
Image
"But there are in fact 'army ants' that destroy everything in their path. And it's true that you'd best stay out of their way! They live in South America. Down there the phenomenon is called Marabounta."

#36 Marabounta

As a representative of authority, Ms Hertz is emblematic of the obstacles in the fight against XANA. Several times, our heroes get stuck in her class during an attack, since the old teacher is stricter than Mr Fumet.
Ms Hertz gets even more troublesome when, due to the demands of her job, she puts pressure on the heroes because of their bad reports, especially Ulrich, who she wants to send to ninth grade remedial (episode 62 “Nobody in Particular”).

However, there are times when Ms Hertz' scientific explanations enable the heroes to figure out XANA's schemes. For instance, in episode 75 “Hot Shower”, it is her scientific literacy that convinces the principal that Kadic must be evacuated when the meteor shower starts.

Contrary to what some people sometimes say, our heroes do not need any help from Ms Hertz: the science teacher lost the vitality of her youth, she is too old to actually fight XANA; what's more, as you know, her personality is a hindrance to our heroes when they need to skip a class.

But the only time when Ms Hertz is actually a real nuisance is in episode 54 “Lyoko Minus One”. During a school trip with year 10, she gets xanafied, along with Jim and the rest of the class. William is the one who suffers the consequences of her xanafication, especially when she sends him flying into a tree trunk. In episode 91 “Bad Connection”, she is once more under the program's influence, as well as the rest of Kadic.
 

Character and behaviour
 
Image"Your grades were almost all Cs and Ds. Obviously, as always, there are exceptions! Belpois! I gave you an A-. The minus was a reminder that there is no such thing as perfection.
Stern, you are clearly pushing the limits of your I-don't-care attitude. A nucleus is not made up of croutons, but protons. D-! If memory serves, and mine is more reliable than yours, you promised you'd put in an honest effort, didn't you? Whereas it seems quite clear to me that you didn't even glance at your notes! This is not going to help you at the academic review tomorrow morning...


#62 Nobody in Particular

As a very experienced teacher, Ms Hertz knows how to use stinging words and display lots of authority, unlike some of her colleagues of the same age, who seem to feel lost in front of the new generation. She does not tolerate any misconduct and does not hesitate to punish inopportune chattering or to take severe measures (episode 9 “Satellite”).

If a student gets bad marks, she makes it public information, sometimes harshly (episode 62 “Nobody in Particular”), and on the contrary, she praises good students like Herb and Jeremy.
She is a teacher who likes to explain everything, but she is also very demanding and her tests sometimes result in what you may call a slaughter!

As soon as she makes a decision, she is very determined. So she won't bow, even in front of a mob of junior high-school students begging for their confiscated phones (episode 9 “Satellite”), or when all her co-workers stand against her during an academic review (episode 62 “Nobody in Particular”).

To conclude, I would say that Ms Hertz is a good teacher, who does not hold a grudge against dunces (we can see this in episode 30 “A Great Day”, when she acknowledges the improvement of Odd's performance) and accepts admitting her mistakes (episode 24 “Ghost Channel”).

Ms Hertz rarely has a comical role, except when she makes fun of Sissi or Nicolas, or when she begs Jim to give her dance lessons!
Indeed, it is hard to be funny when your behaviour is so acetic! In episode 15 “Laughing Fit”, the students (and the viewers as well) are astonished to see the old woman bursting out laughing after inhaling laughing gas.
 

Appearances
 
Image

"The path to science is paved with experiments."
Code Lyoko Chronicles
The Underground Castle - Chapter 4

#00 XANA Awakens (part 1)
#2 Seeing is Believing
#7 Image Problem
#9 Satellite
#13 Just in Time
#14 Plagued
#15 Laughing Fit
#16 Claustrophobia
#17 Amnesia
#18 Killer Music
#19 Frontier
#20 The Robots
#21 Zero Gravity Zone
#22 Routine
#23 Rock Bottom?
#24 Ghost Channel
#25 Code Earth
#26 False Start
#27 New Order
#28 Unchartered Territory
#30 A Great Day
#32 Saint Valentine's Day
#33 Final Mix
#36 Marabounta
#45 Cold War
#46 Déjà Vu
#54 Lyoko Minus One
#62 Nobody in Particular
#63 Triple Trouble
#64 Double Trouble
#67 Double Take
#75 Hot Shower
#76 The Lake
#89 Music to Soothe the Savage Beast
#91 Bad Connection
 

Community
 
Image
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Mme Hertz
 
 Mme Hertz

[Caractéristiques] [Rôle dans la série] [Caractère et comportement] [Episodes d'intervention] [Communauté]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 

Image

Caractéristiques
 
Image

« C'est pas à vous que je vais apprendre que le bois n'est pas conducteur ! »

#54 Lyokô moins un

Identité : Suzanne Hertz

Profession : Professeur de Sciences physiques et de S.V.T.

Famille : Aucune information, on pense qu'elle n'est pas mariée puisque Jim semble parfois la « convoiter » !

Autres : Mme Hertz semble éprise d'un certain Pédro (épisode 62 « Désincarnation ») qu'elle veut impressionner par des danses de salon comme le tango argentin. Elle est cependant gêné à l'idée d'en parler devant les élèves (Episode 75 « Corps céleste »). C'est le professeur le plus autoritaire.
En outre, elle devient le professeur principal des troisièmes (donc d'Odd, Ulrich, Jérémie et Aelita) durant la troisième saison.
 

Rôle dans la série
 
Image
« Mais il existe effectivement les « fourmis légionnaires », qui se déplacent parfois en très grand nombre et dévastent tout sur leur passage... Et c'est vrai qu'il vaut mieux s'écarter de leur chemin ! Elles vivent en Amérique du Sud : là-bas, le phénomène est appelé "Marabounta". »

#36 Marabounta

Comme toute autorité de Kadic, Mme Hertz représente des contraintes dans la lutte contre XANA. Les héros se retrouvent souvent bloqués dans sa salle de classe ; le vieux professeur se montrant plus ferme que M. Fumet.
Mme Hertz devient encore plus gênante quand, suivant les exigences de son emploi, elle menace les héros pour leurs mauvaises notes, notamment Ulrich qu'elle veut envoyer en troisième allégée (épisode 62 « Désincarnation »).

Il arrive néanmoins que les explications scientifiques de Mme Hertz permettent aux héros de comprendre les procédés employés par XANA. Dans l'épisode 75 « Corps céleste », c'est son sens scientifique qui convainc le directeur de faire évacuer Kadic aux préludes de la pluie de météorites.

Contrairement à ce qu'on peut voir ou lire parfois, les héros n'ont cependant aucune aide à attendre de Mme Hertz : le vieux professeur a perdu une bonne partie de sa jeunesse et n'est plus en âge de combattre XANA ; vous l'aurez compris, son tempérament n'aide pas spécialement les héros quand ils doivent sécher un cours !

La seule fois où Mme Hertz sera véritablement nuisible, c'est dans l'épisode 54 « Lyokô moins un » ! Elle sera au cours d'une sortie avec ses élèves de secondes ; xanatifiée en même temps que Jim et toute la classe. William en fait les frais, surtout quand elle l'envoie s'écraser contre un arbre. Elle repasse sous l'influence du programme en même temps que tout Kadic dans l'épisode 91 « Mauvaises ondes»
 

Caractère et comportement
 
Image« Les notes vont de 6 à 11. Evidemment, comme d'habitude, il y a des exceptions. Belpois : 18/20. Je vous ai enlevé deux points car la perfection n'est pas de ce monde.
Stern ! Vous repoussez les limites du je-m'en-foutisme : un noyau n'est pas constitué de croûtons mais de protons : 5/20 ! Si ma mémoire est bonne – et à l'évidence, elle est meilleure que la vôtre – vous m'aviez promis de travailler ! N'est-ce pas ? Or visiblement, vous n'avez même pas jeté un œil à vos leçons ! Voilà qui ne va pas arranger votre cas au conseil de classe, demain matin... »


#62 Désincarnation

Professeur avec beaucoup d'expérience, Mme Hertz a la réplique cassante et beaucoup d'autorité, contrairement à certains des collègues de son âge nettement dépassés par la nouvelle jeunesse. Elle ne laisse pas passer les écarts et n'hésitera jamais à réprimander les bavardages intempestifs ou faire tomber des sanctions (épisode 9 « Satellite »).

Si un élève obtient de mauvais résultats, elle le fait savoir, parfois un peu durement (épisode 62 « Désincarnation ») et à l'inverse, elle valorise les bons élèves comme Hervé et Jérémie.
C'est un professeur qui semble bien expliquer, tout en mettant la barre de niveau haut. Les résultats de ses interrogations nous rappellent parfois le sens du mot hécatombe !

Quand elle prend des décisions, elle est très déterminée. Aussi ne flanche-t-elle pas quand une meute de collégiens réclame ses portables confisqués (épisode 9 « Satellite ») ou quand tous ses collègues ne sont pas d'accord avec elle en conseil de classe (épisode 62 « Désincarnation »).

Je conclue en disant que Mme Hertz est un bon professeur, non rancunier vis-à-vis des cancres (on le voit dans l'épisode 30 « Un grand jour », où elle reconnaît les progrès d'Odd) et qui accepte de reconnaître ses erreurs (épisode 24 « Canal Fantôme »).

Mme Hertz n'a que rarement un rôle comique, excepté quand elle rabroue Sissi ou Nicolas, voire quand elle supplie Jim de lui donner des cours de danse !
Difficile de faire rire quand on a un comportement si acétique ! Dans l'épisode 15 « Crise de rires », les élèves (comme le spectateur) sont sidérés de voir la vieille dame s'esclaffer sous l'effet du gaz hilarant.
 

Episodes d'intervention
 
Image

« Le chemin vers la science est pavé d'expériences. »
Code Lyoko Chronicles
Le Château Souterrain - Chap. 4

Le réveil de XANA (Partie 1)
#2 Le voir pour le croire
#7 Problème d'image
#9 Satellite
#13 D'un cheveu
#14 Piège
#15 Crise de rires
#16 Claustrophobie
#18 Musique mortelle
#17 Mémoire morte
#19 Frontière
#20 L'âme des robots
#21 Gravité 0
#22 Routine
#23 36ème dessous
#24 Canal fantôme
#25 Code Terre
#26 Faux départ
#27 Nouvelle donne
#28 Terre inconnue
#30 Un grand jour
#32 Saint Valentin
#33 Mix final
#36 Marabounta
#45 Guerre froide
#46 Empreintes
#54 Lyoko moins un
#62 Désincarnation
#63 Triple sot
#64 Surmenage
#67 Mauvaise réplique
#75 Corps céleste
#76 Le lac
#89 Il est sensé d'être insensé
#91 Mauvaises ondes
 

Communauté
 
Image
 

Image