Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Jean-Pierre Delmas
 
 Jean-Pierre Delmas (the principal)

[Characteristics] [Role in the series] [Character and behaviour] [Appearances] [Communauté]

[Back to homepage]
 
 

Image

Characteristics
 
Image
"Good, well then you will please escort your classmate to the principal's office. It's time Odd was punished!"

#64 Double Trouble


Name: Jean-Pierre Delmas

Occupation: Mr Delmas is the principal of Kadic academy. He is a straight man whose precious time is mainly devoted to his job (apart from some guilty pleasures in playing a mysterious game about...penguins (episode 67 “Double Take”, episode 93 “Down to Earth”)).

Family: His daughter Sissi is a boarder at his own establishment. His wife, on the other hand, is absolutely unknown. According to an interview with Ms Decroisette, she is alive but lives far away from her daughter and Mr Delmas. It is not rare, however, for fans to believe that she is dead and to develop Sissi's character accordingly.

Appearance: Mr Delmas is a solidly-built 40/50-year-old man. He always wears rectangular glasses. His hair is already grey, as are his inalienable moustache and beard!
There is a rumour according to which his design was directly inspired by the appearance of Kõji Morimoto, or that of Hayao Miyazaki, the famous Japanese director and producer of animated movies!
If you want to judge for yourself, be my guest.

Image

Other: Mr Delmas is Kadic's supreme authority. His interventions are unusual compared to those of Jim, so when our heroes are called to his office, it really is a bad sign.
What's more, he has much more authority than the supervisor. However, in some episodes, his reasonable punishments do not meet Jim's expectations, who disapproves of his boss' weakness (episode 73 “Replika”).
 

Role in the series
 
Image

"I have had enough, Yumi! I'm suspending you for a month!"

#09 Satellite


As we said previously, the principal is the ultimate authority at Kadic: when he stumbles across our heroes, the consequences are always very serious.

So the principal often gets to be the troublesome bad cop. Yet, he's only doing his job! Since he is less present in the field than Jim, he is not aware about our gang's little plots; however, the supervisor and other teachers do not hesitate to send Jeremy and the others to his office in case of bad behaviour. Also, Sissi is very skilful when it comes to making use of her father's high status for her own interests, which are generally opposed to those of our friends (episode 3 “Holiday in the Fog”)... The principal also appears when Odd and Ulrich get bad reports or skip classes.

Unfortunately, in the end, he finally notices the Lyoko Warriors' constant absences and chronic lateness, when XANA's attacks get harder and harder to bear and counter (episode 64 “Double Trouble”)... He is also the one our heroes have to deal with when they have to find a justification for William's absence after his xanafication and disappearance in episode 65 “Final Round”. Jeremy resorts to his voice synthesiser to imitate the voice of William's father and comes up with various lies. But the way, our whiz kid also uses the synthesiser to usurp the principal's authority and identity: he calls Sissi and orders her to go back to Kadic to study, which diverts our dear pest from spying on Yumi (episode 80 “A Dog Day Afternoon”).

As principal of Kadic, Mr Delmas must also take care of all the administrative tasks, be it presiding over academic reviews (episode 62 “Nobody in Particular”), welcoming important people (episode 45 “Cold War”), or managing finances (episode 6 “Cruel Dilemma”). He also has to face angry parents such as William's, who realise that their son disappeared and was replaced with a vegetative clone (episode 93 “Down to Earth”).

Mr Delmas should not be considered as a killjoy, but rather as a very responsible man. When he undergoes XANA's attacks, he always has appropriate reactions and he is very concerned about the security of his students. He does not hesitate before evacuating the Academy when Ms Hertz tells him that a meteor shower is about to occur. Still, the scope of the events is sometimes a little over his head, especially when faced with two secret service agents, or of a giant aggressive ball of electricity!

There are only two typical situations when he intervenes in the fight against XANA.
The first category includes the four times when he discovered the factory (episode “XANA Awakens Part 2”, episode 10 “The Girl of the Dreams”, episode 29 “Exploration”, episode 56 “False Lead”). In each case, his position is always straight: the students made a serious infringement to the rules. Luckily, the Return to the Past minimises the damage.

The other possibility is the case when XANA takes control of this good man. In episode 41, he is forced into kidnapping Odd and Yumi before setting an ultimatum: if Aelita does not hand herself over to the Schyphozoa, the two hostages will be executed. Once again, thanks to Jeremy's EMP bomb, our heroes make it out even though Odd and Yumi, as well as Ulrich, are on the verge of dying! Once not enough, XANA possesses the good man a second time. Using his authority, he ensures that Ulrich, Yumi, Odd and Jeremy stay in detention while he takes Aelita to Lyoko to turn her over to the Schyphozoa (episode 90 “Wrong Exposure”). He gives Odd a hard time with martial arts and hand-to-hand combat. At last, in episode 91 “Bad Connection”, the principal gets one last free ride with the rest of his staff when the program xanafies everyone in the Academy using mobile phones.
 

Character and behaviour
 
Image
"Well, my advice would be to give up her vacation and stay home and study for her own good."


#03 Holiday in the Fog



The principal is a straight, upstanding man who remains true to his values and who does not allow himself to be easily troubled. He is fond of his work and runs Kadic perfectly. He is always very present and open, he even lives in his own establishment while his salary certainly enables him to treat himself to better than that. Even at night, in case of absolute necessity (episode 29 “Exploration”).

Towards students, he is just and he acknowledges the qualities of each one. He is more liable to give a second chance to a studious person like Yumi than to a bad student like Odd. When his students are disturbed, he is not unmoved: he always try to understand the reasons behind blameworthy behaviours and other shortcomings (episode 6 “Cruel Dilemma”).
In a sense, he acts a very paternal way. Whatever the event or the show that the students set up, he attends to it (episode 15 “Laughing Fit”, episode 60 “Temporary Insanity”). Any kind of activity is authorised under the condition that there is no discrimination (for instance, Odd's music group in episode 2 “Seeing Is Believing”), and he also supervises various training days (episode 39 “A Bad Turn”, episode 72 “Crash Course”).
With time, this character gains some charisma and you must notice that nobody in the Academy dares question his authority (except XANA maybe). Jim should really take a leaf out of his book! The principal is also empowered with the right to heavily sanction teachers by firing them (episode 25 “Code Earth”), or for students, by suspending them (episode 9 “Satellite”).

But the principal does have a weak point: his daughter Sissi!
Indeed, as soon as Sissi is involved, Mr Delmas seems to soften. Maybe she is all he has left in his life...
Anyhow, our twisted pest sure knows how to make use of her influence over her father. He never puts up solid resistance to her pleas (except in episode 33 “Final Mix” in which Sissi's marks are too bad!) On the other hand, in episode 19 “Frontier”, she gets Yumi out of a bad situation thanks to one of those occult forces she is the only one to master; and such an influence over the headmaster is an incredible power. It's a chance that for once, Sissi's objectives match those of our heroes! However, Jean-Pierre seems to be conscious of his daughter's attitude, which exasperates Jim in spite – or because – of his lack of rigidity.
When his daughter is hurt, Mr Delmas is deeply worried and even panics a little, which is normal coming from a father (episode “XANA Awakens Part 2”). He is also concerned about her mental health when, in episode 95 “Echoes”, she bursts into his office and confusedly rants that she discovered the truth about our heroes' double lives; he tries to take her to the hospital by force. One last detail: episode 53 “Straight to Heart” reveals that he always keeps a photo of his daughter in his office.

Even when he is afraid, the principal is able to remain stoic. Be it when he faces the men in black (episode 56 “False Lead”) or when Yumi is aimed at by the military satellite (episode 9 “Satellite”).
One of his bravest actions is when he throws himself onto one of the xanafied agents of episode 56 “False Lead” to prevent him from hurting Jeremy. This perfectly illustrates his constant concern about the security of his students.

He appears glad to welcome back William (or at least the one he thinks to be William) when his clone enters the Academy (episode 67 “Double Take”).

He and Jim form a comical duo that often offers us funny scenes highlighting the contrast between the two adults and their opposing lifestyles. However, given the photo discovered in Sissi's room in episode 87 “A Space Oddity”, it seems that Mr Delmas has a hidden, jovial side...
 

Appearances
 
Image

"Help! The principal's gone totally crazy! He's kidnapped Yumi and Odd!"

#41 Ultimatum

All but:
XANA Awakens (part 1)
#4 Log Book
#5 Big Bug
#12 Swarming Attack
#14 Plagued
#21 Zero Gravity Zone
#22 Routine
#23 Rock Bottom?
#27 New Order
#28 Unchartered Territory
#31 Mister Pück
#35 The Chips Are Down
#36 Marabounta
#37 Common Interest
#40 Attack of the Zombies
#42 A Fine Mess
#43 XANA's Kiss
#44 Vertigo
#46 Déjà Vu
#54 Lyoko Minus One
#55 Tidal Wave
#57 Aelita
#59 The Secret
#61 Sabotage
#63 Triple Trouble
#72 Crash Course
#74 I'd Rather Not Talk About It
#76 The Lake
#77 Lost at Sea
#78 Lab Rat
#79 Bragging Rights
#80 Dog Day Afternoon
#82 Distant Memory
#83 Hard Luck
#84 Guided Missile
#85 Kadic Bombshell
#86 Canine Conundrum
#92 Cold Sweat
#94 Fight to the Finish
 

Communauté
 
Image
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Jean-Pierre Delmas
 
 Jean-Pierre Delmas (Le proviseur)

[Caractéristiques] [Rôle dans la série] [Caractère et comportement] [Episodes d'intervention] [Communauté]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 

Image

Caractéristiques
 
Image
« Ben, alors, tu vas accompagner ton camarade chez le Proviseur ! Cette situation ne peut plus durer... Odd mérite une punition... »

#64 Surmenage

Identité :
Jean-pierre Delmas

Profession :
M. Delmas est le proviseur du collège Kadic. C'est un homme entier à qui son métier ne laisse guère de temps pour faire autre chose (outre les détente qu'il s'accorde pour décompresser devant un mystérieux jeu de pingouin... (Episode 67 « Mauvaise réplique » & 93 « Retour »)).

Famille :
Sa fille Sissi est pensionnaire dans son propre collège. En revanche, on ignore tout de sa femme. D'après l'interview de Mme Decroisette, elle est encore en vie mais vit loin de sa fille et Monsieur Delmas. Il n'est cependant pas rare, dans les fanfictions, que les fans la croit morte et travaille le personnage de Sissi en fonction de cela.

Apparence :

M. Delmas est un homme de 40/50 ans, à forte carrure. Il porte toujours des lunettes rectangulaires. Ses cheveux sont déjà gris tout comme ses éternelles moustaches et sa barbe !
Une rumeur courre comme quoi le design de ce personnage serait inspiré directement de l'apparence de Kõji Morimoto ou bien de celle de Hayao Miyazaki, le célèbre réalisateur d'animé japonais !
Voyez plutôt !

Image

Autres :
M. Delmas est l'autorité suprême de Kadic. Il intervient moins souvent que Jim, mais lorsque les héros sont convoqués dans son bureau, c'est très mauvais présage !
Il a par ailleurs bien plus d'autorité que le surveillant. Dans certains épisodes, ses punitions ne sont toutefois pas à la hauteur de ce qu'attend celui-ci, qui déplore alors la faiblesse de son patron (Episode 73 « Réplika »).
 

Rôle dans la série
 
Image

« Vous ! YUMI ! Vous êtes virée pendant un mois. »

#09 Satellite

Comme dit précédemment, le proviseur est l'autorité ultime de Kadic ; quand il tombe sur notre groupe, les conséquences sont toujours d'une gravité extrême.

Le proviseur endosse donc souvent le mauvais rôle, celui-ci du casse pied des héros. Pourtant il ne fait qu'appliquer sa tâche. Il est beaucoup moins sur le terrain que Jim, par conséquent, il ne se rend pas compte des manigances diverses de Jérémie et des autres, néanmoins le surveillant et tout le corps des professeurs n'hésitent pas à envoyer les héros dans son bureau en cas de mauvaise conduite. On peut remarquer que Sissi est parfois très habile à exploiter la position haute de son père pour servir ses intérêts (épisode 3 « Vacances dans la brume »)...souvent contraires à ceux des héros. Le proviseur intervient également pour sévir quand Odd et Ulrich reçoivent de mauvaises notes ou sèchent les cours.

Pour comble de malheur, il a fini par se rendre compte des absences et retards abusifs des Lyoko-guerriers, les menaces commencent donc à peser, toujours plus fortes (épisode 64 « Surmenage »)... C'est donc avec lui que les héros doivent traiter pour justifier l'absence de William suite à sa xanatification et disparition dans l'épisode 65 « Dernier Round ». Jérémie devra user de son transformateur vocal et prendre le ton du père de William pour imaginer divers bobards. Le génie use aussi du programme afin de détourner à de mauvaises fins l'autorité du proviseur. Ainsi, il appelle Sissi et la somme de rentrer à Kadic pour réviser, libérant ainsi Yumi de la surveillance intempestive de la peste (Episode 80 « Kiwodd »).

En tant que supérieur de Kadic, M. Delmas doit également s'occuper de tout l'aspect officiel et administratif, allant des conseils de classe (épisode 62 « Désincarnation ») au accueil de personnages importantes (épisode 45 « Guerre froide ») et la gérance du budget (épisode 6 « Cruel dilemme »). C'est aussi lui qui devra affronter la colère des parents de William quand ceux-ci s'apercevront que leur fils a disparu pour laisser place à une réplique légumineuse (Episode 93 « Retour »).

Il ne faut pas voir M. Delmas comme un rabat-joie mais comme un homme particulièrement responsable. Quand il assiste aux attaques de XANA, il prend toujours les réactions appropriées et est très soucieux du devenir de ses élèves, il n'hésite pas à faire évacuer le collège quand Mme Hertz l'avertit de la pluie de météores. Il reste toutefois dépassé un peu par les évènements, notamment face aux deux agents secrets ou bien quand il découvre la boule d'électricité géante assez agressive !

Il n'intervient qu'en deux types d'occasions dans la lutte contre XANA !
La première fut les quatre fois où il découvrit l'usine (épisode « Le réveil de XANA partie 2 » ; épisode 10 « Créature de rêve » ; épisode 29 « Exploration » ; épisode 56 « Fausse piste »). Dans ces cas là, sa position est toujours formelle : les élèves ont fait une grave entrave aux règlements. Heureusement, le retour vers le passé a toujours sauvé les meubles.

La seconde occasion survient dans l‘épisode 41 « Ultimatum » dans lequel XANA s'approprie le brave homme ! Il lui fait enlever Odd et Yumi avant que XANA ne lance un ultimatum : Aelita doit se livrer à la Méduse sans quoi les deux captifs seraient exécutés. Les héros s'en tireront une nouvelle fois, avec le soutien de la bombe EMP de Jérémie, mais Odd, Yumi comme Ulrich risqueront le pire ! Une fois n'étant pas coutume, XANA reprend contrôle du brave homme et use de son autorité pour assigner Ulrich, Yumi, Odd et Jérémie en colle pendant qu'il emmène Aelita sur Lyoko pour la livrer à la Méduse (Episode 90 « Médusée »). Il donne à Odd du fil à retordre dans un combat d'art martial. Enfin, dans l'épisode 91 « Mauvaise ondes », le proviseur y repasse en même temps que tout son personnel quand le programme xanatifie le collège grâce aux téléphones portables.
 

Caractère et comportement
 
Image
« Je lui suggérerais de faire une croix sur ses vacances et de rester chez elle
pour réviser ses cours. »

#03 Vacances dans la brume


Le proviseur est un homme droit, entier, fidèle à ses valeurs et imperturbable (ou presque). Il est très attaché à ses fonctions et à son travail et il dirige Kadic à merveille. Toujours très présent et disponible, il vit même sur place dans son propre établissement alors que son salaire lui permettrait sans nul doute de s'offrir mieux. Même la nuit, il reste disponible en cas de force majeur (épisode 29 « Exploration »).

Avec les élèves, il est très juste et reconnaît le mérite de chacun. Il donne plus facilement une deuxième chance à une personne studieuse comme Yumi qu'à un cancre comme Odd. Quand ses élèves ne vont pas bien, il ne reste pas indifférent, il essaie toujours de comprendre le comportement et les raisons d'une éventuelle faute (épisode 6 « Cruel dilemme »).
Dans un sens, il est très proche de ses élèves. Il assiste toujours aux différentes manifestations et spectacles que les élèves organisent (épisode 15 « Crise de rires » et 60 « Tarentule au plafond »). Il autorise toute sorte d'activités à condition qu'il n'y ait aucune discrimination (à l'image du groupe musical d'Odd dans l'épisode 2 « Le voir pour le croire »), encadre les formations diverses (Episode 39 « Mauvaise conduite » & Episode 72 « Leçon de choses »).
C'est un personnage auquel on peut trouver un certain charisme et il faut remarquer que personne (hormis XANA peut-être) dans le collège n'ose contester son autorité. Jim devrait en prendre de la graine ! Le proviseur est habilité à faire tomber les sanctions les plus lourdes comme l'exclusion ou le renvoi chez les professeurs (épisode 9 « Satellite » et 25 « Code Terre »).

Il faut donc en venir à la grosse faiblesse du proviseur : Sa fille Sissi !
M. Delmas semble en effet être un peu mou avec sa fille, mais peut-être est elle tout ce qui lui reste dans sa vie...
Quoiqu'il en soit la vicieuse peste sait bien en profiter et utiliser son influence sur son père. Celui-ci n'oppose jamais une grande résistance aux supplications (sauf dans l'épisode 33 « Mix final », dans lequel les notes de Sissi sont trop mauvaises !). On voit dans l'épisode 19 « Frontière », Sissi sortir Yumi d'un faux pas grâce à des moyens occultes qu'elle seule connaît ; une telle influence sur le proviseur est un moyen de force incroyable. Heureusement que pour cette fois les intérêts de Sissi étaient en accord avec ceux des héros. Même si Jean-pierre ne se montre pas ferme avec sa fille, l'attitude de cette dernière semble parfois l'exaspérer au plus haut point.
Quand sa fille est blessée, M. Delmas s'inquiète énormément (épisode le « Réveil de XANA partie 2 ») et panique un peu, attitude normale pour un père. Il s'inquiète de son état de santé quand elle déboule en trombe dans son bureau dans l'épisode 95 « Souvenir » pour lui déballer confusément tout ce qu'elle a découvert sur la double vie des héros. Il tente de l'emmener à l'hôpital. On voit dans l'épisode 53 « Droit au cœur » qu'il a une photo de sa fille en permanence dans son bureau !

Même s'il a peur, le proviseur sait rester stoïque. On le voit quand il est face au homme en noir (épisode 56 « Fausse piste ») ou quand Yumi est prise en ligne de mire par le satellite militaire (épisode 9 « Satellite »).
C'est dans l'épisode 56 « Fausse piste » qu'on voit M. Delmas faire preuve d'un grand courage quand il se jette littéralement sur un des deux agents xanatifiés pour l'empêcher de faire du mal à Jérémie. On sent toujours chez lui ce souci permanent pour la sécurité de ses chers étudiants.

Il est d'ailleurs heureux de ré-accueillir ou William (ou ce qu'il pense être William) quand la réplique de ce dernier arrive au collège (Episode 67 « Mauvaise réplique »).

Le duo qu'il forme avec Jim déclenche souvent des scènes comiques qui découlent du contraste entre ceux deux adultes et leur mode de vie opposé. La photo découverte dans la chambre de Sissi dans l'épisode 87 « Planète bleue » nous le révèle sous un jour plutôt fêtard.
 

Episodes d'intervention
 
Image

« Au secours ! Le proviseur est devenu dingue ! Il a kidnappé Yumi et Odd ! »

#41 Ultimatum

Tous sauf :
Réveil de XANA (partie 1)
#4 Carnet de bord
#5 Big bogue
#12 Attaque en piqué
#14 Piège
#21 Gravité 0
#22 Routine
#23 36ème dessous
#27 Nouvelle donne
#28 Terre inconnue
#31 Mister Pück
#35 Les jeux sont faits
#36 Marabounta
#37 Intérêt commun
#40 Contagion
#42 Désordre
#43 Mon meilleur ennemi
#44 Vertige
#46 Empreintes
#54 Lyoko moins un
#55 Raz de marée
#57 Aelita
#59 Le secret
#61 Sabotage
#63 Triple sot
#72 Leçon de choses
#74 Je préfère ne pas en parler
#76 Le lac
#77 Torpilles virtuelles
#78 Expérience
#79 Arachnophobie
#80 Kiwodd
#82 Mémoire blanche
#83 Superstition
#84 Missile guidé
#85 La belle de Kadic
#86 Kiwi superstar
#92 Sueurs froides
#94 Contre-attaque
 

Communauté
 
Image
 

Image